“What is that?” my mom asked. Looking passed our yard and across the river, there appeared to be a sheep on our small island. 

 “How did a sheep get over there?”

 Not willing to let any of God’s creation suffer the cruel fate of the wild, my mom mapped out a rescue mission. Soon, across the river’s frozen waters we stepped. Our bodies wreathed with shock as the ice sloshed into our knee-high boots. Though we only walked for about ten feet, it felt like miles. Shivering, we stepped onto the island.

“You head this way, and I’ll go the opposite way,” my mom called to me. The job did not seem difficult at first… we needed to simply catch a single sheep, but after two hours of running around an island in the dead of winter, we realized our efforts were futile. that sheep was not going to go with anyone but it’s Shephard.

It may seem odd, but I have often looked back in admiration of that sheep. We have a Shephard – the best Shephard. Unfortunately, unlike the sheep on the island, we humans are very fickle and easily led astray. Jesus tells us in John 10:11, ” I am the good shephard; the good shephard lays down His life for His sheep.” Jesus has proven Himself to be a good shephard, but have we even proven ourselves worthy to be called sheep?

